Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Learn more about the symptoms and how you can protect yourself.

Blount County Government

Blount County Contacts

Ed Mitchell, County Mayor, 865-273-5700

Gaye Hasty, County Clerk, 865-273-5800

James Berrong, Sheriff, 865-273-5000

Scott Graves, Trustee, 865-273-5900

Phyllis Crisp, Register of Deeds, 865-273-5880

Tim Helton, Property Assessor, 865-273-5850

Jeff Headrick, Highway Superintendent, 865-982-4652

Tom Hatcher, Circuit Court Clerk, 865-273-5400

Thomas Lloyd, Planning, 865-681-9301

Randy Vineyard, Financial Director, 865-273-5710


A County Commission/County Mayor form of government in which 21 County Commissioners make laws governs Blount County. All Commissioners are elected by district and serve four-year terms; the terms are not staggered. The County Commission meets the third Thursday each month at the County Commission room at the Blount County Courthouse. The County Mayor is the Chief Administrative Officer of Blount County.

Other elected County officials include: the County Clerk, Sheriff, Circuit Court Clerk, County Trustee, Register of Deeds, Property Assessor, Highway Superintendent, School Superintendent, General Sessions Judges for Divisions I, II and III; Circuit Court Judges for Divisions I and II, Chancellor, Public Defender, and District Attorney General.

Services include: Tax assessments and collections, county law enforcement and jail, health services, holding elections, maintenance and construction of county roads, keeping official records, providing municipal-type services for the unincorporated areas of the county (such as law enforcement, libraries, and parks and recreation), county school system, court system, veterans’ services, business licenses, marriage licenses, and planning. (Fire protection and ambulance services are available through private companies).

Operating Budget Data
1995-96 $66,101,057
1996-97 $73,637,385
1997-98 $79,480,042
2002-03 $112,367,266
2003-04 $115,392,679
2005-06 $134,200,385
2011-12 $162,402,895
2014-15 $169.179,344
2015-16 $174,940,505
2016-17 $401,665,369
2017-18 $270,899,000

 Blount County Operating Budget

County Commissioner Contacts
Jackie Hill 865-982-8667 120 E Stephenson, Alcoa, TN 37701 1A
Joe McCulley 865-982-6351 202 Boxwood Ave, Alcoa, TN 37701 1B
Mike Akard 865-982-6369 1221 Beverly Drive, Alcoa, TN 37701 2A
Jim Hammontree 865-898-7506 864 E Hunt Rd, Aloca, TN 37701 2B
Scott King 865-660-8654 436 Sam Houston School Rd, Maryville,TN 37804 3A
Mike Caylor 865-323-3143 1200 Karina Circle, Maryville, TN 37804 3B
Robbie Bennett 865-806-8869 1004 Fox Cove Cir, Maryville, TN 37804 4A
Dawn Reagan 865-724-3762 3566 Black Sulfer Way, Maryville, TN 37803 4B
Brain Robbins 865-809-8895 4241 Horace Taylor Rd, Maryville,TN 37803 4C
Jared Anderson 865-964-9945 1021 Windridge Dr, Maryville, TN 37803 5A
Richard Carver 865-984-6774 1216 Redwood Avenue, Maryville, TN 37803 5B
Nick Bright 865-254-0637 2737 Morganton Rd, Maryville, TN 37801 6A
Dodd Crowe 865-742-6737 318 S. Springview Road, Maryville, TN 37801 6B
Tom Stinnett 865-207-7207 1024 Stagecoach Lane, Friendsville, TN 37737 7A
Staci Crisp-Lawhorn 865-995-9250 367 Cedar Crest , Friendsville, TN 37737 7B
Brad Bowers 865-659-7711 732 Crum Road, Walland, TN 37886 8A
Jeff Jopling 865-719-9480 250 Boat Gunnel Rd, Walland, TN 37782 8B
Ronald French 865-577-8393 813 Burnett Station Road, Seymour, TN 37865 9A
Steve Mikes 865-424-0302 508 Pickens Gap Rd, Louisville, TN 37865 9B
Linda Webb 865-389-0541 3330 Miser Station Rd, Louisville, TN 37737 10A
Tom Hood 865-643-2891 3629 Channel Drive, Louisville, TN 37737 10B

Blount County Planning Department

The Blount County Planning Department is a division of County government under the County Mayor. The Department provides staff support to the Planning Commission, and general planning services to the County government and the public. The Department reviews subdivision plats, answers development questions posed by the public, provides data services to the public and other County departments, and supports long range planning efforts.

Planning and Zoning

Planning Commission

The Blount County Planning Commission is responsible for planning the orderly development of the county. The Planning Commission has prime responsibility for formulating and administering subdivision regulations. The Blount County Subdivision Regulations set minimum standards for development of lots, roads, and utilities, in order to maintain a level of quality for present and future property owners. The Planning Commission has advisory responsibility in matters of zoning regulations and map, with some prime responsibilities in reviewing site plans under zoning regulations. The Planning Commission is composed of twelve seats. Five of the seats are filled by members of the County Legislative Body (County Commission). The other seven seats are appointed by the County Mayor with confirmation by the County Commission. The Planning Commission holds regular meetings on the fourth Thursday of each month, generally starting at 5:30 P.M., in the County Courthouse. The Commission may call special meetings and public hearings with due notice to the public.

Environmental Regulations

Local: The Blount County Environmental Department inspects septic field installations.

State: Most state environmental regulations are developed and enforced by the Department of Environment and Conservation. Areas regulated include; air pollution, water quality, radiological exposure, solid and hazardous waste management, State Superfund, underground petroleum storage tanks, utility management, and groundwater management.

Law Enforcement
Sworn Officers 169
Certified Deputies 54
Civilian employees 43
Number vehicles 180
Number rescue boats 2
Correctional officers 88
Deputies 21


Fire Protection
Number of professional firefighters 16
Number of volunteer firefighters 30
Number of stations 7
Emergency Medical Services **
Number of paramedics 40
Number emergency medical technicians 40-50
Number of stations 2
Property Tax $2.47/$100

*Fire Equipment: Each station is equipped with a tanker. Each station also has four fire engines. Additional equipment includes brush trucks, hazardous material support truck, and pumpers.

**Equipment/Response Time: Three ambulances are staffed 24 hours/day; three additional ambulances are also available; one additional evening ambulance is staffed and two advance life support supervisor vehicles. The average response time for emergency medical situations is 10 minutes in the County.

Emergency Services Available:
911 Emergency Service for Emergency Police, Fire and Medical Services.

Breaking Ground
Thinking about breaking ground in Blount County?
Contact Us